If this is a previously subscribed user look to the right of the contacts name and there should be icons present. If the icons are visible the user is off line.
If the icons are not there simply un-invite the user and then re-invite them.
Once the person has accepted your invite you should be able to see all icons and the contact turn green.
This will also occur if they have not accepted your invite from WEBCC.